Anxious Load

Music–particularly music that inspires and enlightens–is one of the greatest things about life. I’m constantly amazed at how it helps, encourages, and uplifts me. Despite all of the music that does not fit into that category, there is still plenty of great music out there to truly feed the soul. The hymns of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints are certainly classified in that “great music.”

As I was sitting in Sacrament Meeting today after hearing some wonderful and inspiring talks, we turned to the closing hymn which was “How Gentle God’s Commands“.  I think this is becoming one of my favorites. The verse that particularly impacted me today was the third one which says:

Why should this anxious load
Press down your weary mind?
Haste to your Heav’nly Father’s throne
And sweet refreshment find.

My wife and I have been anxious as of late regarding our uncertain future. We’re not sure where we’ll end up living; not sure if the house we’re renting will sell; not sure if our kids will be in the same school boundaries; and not sure if we’ll ever rise above our budget woes we try so hard to improve upon. But as I sang this verse, it became somewhat clear that we just need to focus on keeping the commandments and being as Christ would have us be (or, in other words, more quickly and earnestly come unto the Father). By so doing, we’d be taken care of in the end.

I’m grateful for the hymns; the truths they contain and they peace and understanding they bring.

Leave a Reply

